Microsoft Windows wordmark

Microsoft Windows wordmark (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By now, all people have experienced frozen screen when using Windows (whatever version), and it is the most frustrating experience, cause nothing moves, no sound, no hourglass, just nothing-less. Yes, you can try the three-finger salute (Ctrl-Alt-Delete) to “Shutdown“properly,but sometime that does not even do anything. Well, the only thing to do is to shut your computer down with the actual on/off button, and hope for the best.

Wait, there is one thing you must do when you turn it on again, it saved my laptops many times, that is to do a “Safe Boot“! If you know about this, good for you. I bet some people have no idea. Essentially, “Safe Boot” is to boot up Windows with minimal components, and it is most useful with the above scenario. Here is the how: when you turn your laptop or computer on again, shortly after the brand prompt (HP,Acer,..), Press and Hold F8, until a blue screen shows up with Safe Boot choices. I usually pick without network connection. Use your up-down button to select a choice, I usually choose “1”. Windows will boot up, and once it finishes, use your Start menu like usual and Shutdown properly.

Whenever I suspect my laptop has virus, worms, malware, adware,… that causes problem, I will also do a Safe Boot and use my virus/malware scan at that level, if things are detected, it will be cleaned, which may be the reason your Windows having problem shutting down in the first place.

I wish Windows 8 would finally resolve all these issues, and I am a dreamer!

Cheers.

