Despite all the writings of disappointment in Apple’s latest offerings: iPad Air, Mini Retina, OS Maverick, …, Apple is still one of the most organized, consumer oriented company. WHY? Check out this link: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1353#. A link that shows a chronological display of all the iPods that existed and exist. I found mine, a fifth generation 2006 release with 80GB, and I paid good money for it, $600 in 2006. The incredible thing is that a seven years old portable music player that allows for current software updates, and still plays my library with no hitches whatsover. That I call a good return on investment. In comparison, my Sony’s Net MD Walkman Mz-N510, obviously is no longer supported, but I did manage to locate an old software driver in Sony’s esupport page. I paid $500 for it, and used it for a year: Bad investment, so is my little ZEN plus from Creative. No battery replacement option.

Here is my point, a good product is a good product, period. I have an iPad2, and am very happy with it. I tried out the iPad Air, and it’s true, not breath-takingly spectacular in any sense to me, but for the ones who have never owned one, it is pretty amusing! And I bet that’s Apple strategy, attract new, or convert, one at a time! there is no rush to amass market share increment in one shot, besides, they don’t need to.

I think this is an important lesson for the other hardware producing companies to take notice. Your gadget derivatives are chasing away your customers! Google is probably the exception so far with its Nexus line. The others, too many names, too many models, total confusion.

So why is Apple winning: stylish, simple lines, and values. The most important of it all, they seem to care about the products they sold that I own. Yes, at a premium, and perhaps the differential is that intangible value you pay for.

Cheers.

